Concentration

I’ve written before about the quandary as a body positivity blogger of posting photos of the bits I love and viewpoints from which I know I look great, versus focusing honestly on the bits I’m not always that happy with. Do we focus on what make us feel fabulous or accept all of it? I usually opt for the former. It’s rare for you to ever see a shot of my big belly or differently shaped and not very pert breasts.

IMG_8795 (3)A few months back I was photographing Exhibit A for his Mapplethorpe homage. After shooting the image we ultimately chose (this one using an old Box Brownie) we tried a couple of shots with him holding my current Canon camera. It didn’t work half as well as the image with the old camera but what did come out of it was the shot below. I didn’t realise that he was photographing me with my camera as I photographed him with my iPhone. And,  strangely, I love the resulting image – rolls and all! I love that I’m completely unaware of my posture and not tugging my shoulders back or sitting up straight to reduce the appearance of my belly. I love the look of concentration in my eyes. And I love that unbeknown to me my complete comfort and contentment in that moment was being captured.

Sinful Sunday

20 thoughts on “Concentration

  1. What a fantastic shot – I love you included the image of Exhibit A photographing you too. You are 100% correct sometimes we do think too much about our posture or appearance and it takes away from the shot. This image of you feels so natural looking at it – what a wonderful, sneaky idea from him ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I live this image. It is exactly that look of concentration when you take photos. You look gorgeous.
    It’s a happy coincidence that I have posted a pic that shows my belly which I would normally avoid, but I love today’s shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I absolutely understand that struggle! I often feel the same and have the same internal battle with my photos. This is a gorgeous natural shot and has got me thinking about doing something a little more ‘real’ myself.
    Aurora x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

