Back to Front

“Mirrors should think longer before they reflect.” Jean Cocteau 

I watched a film yesterday where in one scene a five-year-old boy who has been held hostage his whole life stares in wonder as he sees his reflection for the first time. It got me thinking about how many baby toys are mirror-based. Isn’t it sad that for so many of us a time comes when mirrors change from being objects that captivate and entertain to ones that admonish and chastise?

In celebration of mirrors reflecting good things, here’s a self portrait that I love. I took it playing around in a hotel bathroom in Berlin some 18 months ago – before this blog was even born. I like the framing of the photo and how my breast and arse look but one of the things I love most is that it reminds me of a really fun holiday with friends. 

Sinful Sunday

22 thoughts on “Back to Front

  1. That is such a powerful thought. You are right, children delight in mirrors in such a simple wholesome way. How do we go from that to it being a portal to judgement, shame, worry, fear etc.

    Mollyxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is beautiful and you are beautiful. I love your thoughts on babies and mirrors. I’ve never really thought if it before but it’s so true. Maybe Sinful Sunday helps us recapture as little of that fascination. xx

    Like

  3. Yes! Reclaiming the joy of mirrors – I love this! Makes me want to completely redo my SinfulSunday image. This is feels like an important post Ms 40 thank you – and the reflections are beautiful x x

    Like

  4. This is a beautiful picture (great framing!) and a thought-provoking sentiment. I wonder too about when we as adolescents start to become aware of the dissonance between how we see ourselves and how others see us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

