Whitewash

August and September delivered a series of sucker punches that left me floundering and, at times, devoid of my usual exuberance and resilience. A house purchase falling through within a week of the planned move, my niece born brutally early at just 27.5 weeks and a five figure work contract delayed through no fault of our own. Home, family and finance; three pillars of security, rocked.

Tears were frequent, sleep scarce, motivation for exercise left me, moments of craving security and kindness coupled with moments of needing silence and solitude. But I have amazing friends who at times like this really come into their own. Never underestimate the power of meandering and frankly ridiculous WhatsApp chat as a tonic when the universe is dealing blows! Or of cake, wine, sushi, coffee…

But October is a new month and the time has come to dust myself down, push the shoulders back and the chin up and get on with it. So this week I have filled the gaps in my work schedule with truly simple pleasures. Wallpaper has been stripped, woodwork scrubbed, holes filled, ceilings whitewashedโ€ฆ

Whitewash

SinfulSundayLips150

30 thoughts on “Whitewash

  1. I’m sorry to read you’ve had such a rotten time. I do hope it will be onwards and upwards from now on for you. I love the picture, you look great!

    Like

  2. Life is full of hard knocks however your determination to overcome is inspiring. It’s always best to occupy the mind rather than dwell on the negatives. Love the pic and all of it’s honesty !! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Now that all sounds like a right pain in the butt, and not in a good way. I am glad things are looking up though and you are finally getting your chance to make your mark on your home….. and doing so naked as well, is always a bonus

    Mollyxxx

    Like

  4. September was particularly rough for me as well, and my heart goes out to you for your troubles. Whenever I am seriously stressed, I may not take time for me, but I still try to express gratitude for the little things.
    I am glad to see you not find the positive, but that you are filling your schedule with time for yourself.

    The starkness of this photo works really well for your words. The image of you climbing up goes well with rising above it all. I also like how you’re reaching up. I can find a lot of symbolism in this.

    Like

  5. Sorry to hear you have had so much hit you at once. I hope this month is much more positive for you. I really love your picture. I can imagine your body being speckled in small white dots of paint afterwards. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Oh love, I’m so sorry you’ve been getting a thumping, but glad to know you’re doing okay and that you have support.
    I love the stretch of your body, and the subtle tan lines on your back in this image – and I’d love to get you to recreate it here… only you’d be dealing with the Sussex spiders…

    Like

  7. I hope the rest of the year, and beyond, has better times in store for you.

    Decorating naked always saves on laundry and potentially ruined clothes…

    Like

  8. “Wallpaper has been stripped, woodwork scrubbed, holes filled, ceilings whitewashedโ€ฆ” I keep wanting to read that as a really dirty euphemism! (Mind in the gutter, Jane. Mind in the gutter!)

    So sorry to hear you’ve had such a rough time – wishing you a smooth and happy October.

    Loads of love, Jane xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. happy DIY!!! and yes I love the euphemism. I am a ‘nester’ something I didn’t fully appreciate until I moved out of a ‘house’ and into a home so I sympathise. I hope your niece and sister/sister-in-law are ok and enjoy building your safe and happy spaces. and I love that picture too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

