Landscape

‘Instead of photographing what I saw, I photographed what the camera was seeing. I interfered very little, and the lens produced anatomical images and shapes which my eyes had never observed.’
                                                                                                                                                     Bill Brandt

Flicking through my photo library recently it struck me how frequently when photographing other people, male or female, intimate or not, I choose to drop down low and shoot up the body. I love the way the camera holds the body in reverence when working from that angle.

This week, as a result of turning that angle on myself, I found myself appreciating my shape in a way I rarely do. As we lie in bed looking down our bodies or as we stand in front of the mirror we are often subjecting ourselves to a gaze of judgement and self-criticism. With photographs that capture these perspectives the pavlovian response can be to look for flaws. But here is a view I have never seen before and instead of judging myself I find myself admiring my curves, thinking my shoulders look strong and smiling at the memory of the sun bouncing off the side of my body. I celebrate the landscape of my body.

Landscape

IMG_1329

21 thoughts on “Landscape

  1. Your words are so true; we all judge ourselves when standing in front of the mirror or looking down at our bodies. And then, just sometimes there’s that one image that makes us go: wow! If only those images could stop us from judging ourselves…

    You have a lovely,soft landscape! Lovely image 🙂

    Rebel xox

    Liked by 1 person

  2. THIS!!! This is one of the most powerful things about taking self portraits is that is allows you to see yourself in ways the mirror or just looking down can never ever show you. I have learned so much about my body, the shape, the strengths, the ways it looks from a certain angle or position…. Yes there have been moments where I have looked and thought, OMG never take a picture from that angle again *laughs but even then I learned something useful and positive because I was forced to face a truth of myself even it was one that was challenging.

    Mollyxxx

    Like

  3. Your positive outlook towards your body is always so inspiring, and this week is no exception. It’s a stunning photo, so soft and so beautiful, but I love your words. I am fascinated by how other people see us differently from how we see ourselves, but I’d never really thought of photos giving us a sneaky look into their perspective. I’ll certainly be looking at photos differently! Xxx

    Like

  4. I think that is something I miss out on because my partner takes my photos. If something doesn’t work, I don’t see it, we move onto something that does. Having said that I have learnt to see myself in a different light, the mirror lies whereas the camera doesn’t 😉

    Like

  5. You are a beautiful landscape, indeed, and this photo is stunning! You look carved of marble (by one of the greats). As usual, your words hit very close to home. I absolutely love it when I take a photo of myself and think “Damn! I look good!” Sinful Sunday has provided so many of those moments. It also is helping me reframe my thoughts on images where my first reaction is “eek”… well we’re working on that, at least 🙂

    Like

  6. I think it’s ingrained within us to go searching for those flaws, although I do occasionally have days where i think ‘yeah, I look pretty today’. So often I spend my time looking at the images I take of myself and hating them, hating how I look, noting changes in my body that I deem unfavourable.
    Sometimes I do take a photo I like, hell, maybe even love, of myself, and then I get protective of it, and don;t want to share it incase someone else sees flaws where I have seen beauty *sigh*

    I love this image here, it’s soft and delicate, capturing an intimate moment of peace and serenity.

    xx

    Like

  7. Pingback: The Very Best Of 2015 | Charlie In The Pool

Leave a Reply

